Permanent Deputation. Appointment and functions

Last modification 01/13/2020

Chaired by the Speaker of the Senate, the Permanent Deputation comprises a minimum of twenty-one members. After hearing the Board of the Spokespersons, the Bureau sets the total number of seats in the Permanent Deputation and their distribution among the Parliamentary Groups in proportion to their numerical importance (sections 45 and following of the Standing Orders of the Senate). In the 14th Legislature, the Permanent Deputation is made up of 35 full members, a figure which does not include the Speaker of the Senate, distributed as follows: Grupo Parlamentario Socialista, 15; Grupo Parlamentario Popular en el Senado, 13; Grupo Parlamentario de Esquerra Republicana-EH Bildu, 2; Grupo Parlamentario Vasco en el Senado (EAJ-PNV), 1; Grupo Parlamentario de Ciudadanos, 1; Grupo Parlamentario Izquierda Confederal (Adelante Andalucía, Més per Mallorca, Más Madrid, Compromís, Geroa Bai y Catalunya en Comú Podem), 1; Grupo Parlamentario Nacionalista en el Senado Junts per Catalunya-Coalición Canaria/Partido Nacionalista Canario, 1; and Grupo Parlamentario Mixto, 1. This distribution is subject to review at the beginning of each period of session if there have been variations in the composition of the House. The Bureau of this body is made up of the Speaker of the Senate, two Deputy Speakers and two Secretaries.

The duties of the Permanent Deputation include requesting the holding of and extraordinary Plenary Sitting (section 73 of the Constitution and section 70 of the Standing Orders of the Senate) and protecting the powers of the House when it is not in session and in the period when it is dissolved prior to the constitution of the new House (section 78 of the Constitution). The members of the Permanent Deputation retain their status as Senators even after the conclusion of their mandate or the dissolution of the Senate. Once the new House has assembled, the outgoing Permanent Deputation must render its account of the matters dealt with and the decisions adopted during the dissolution period.