Previous Speakers. Presidencias desde 1977

  • Manuel CRUZ RODRÍGUEZ (Madrid, 1951).
    Chair of Contemporary Philosophy at the University of Barcelona. Author of more than 30 titles (some of which have been translated into other languages) and compiler of almost 15 collective volumes. A Deputy, from 2016 to 2019 he was the PSOE (Spanish Socialist Workers’ Party) spokesman on the Education committee and on the Science, Innovation and Universities committee in the Spanish Congress of Deputies. Speaker of the Senate for the 13th Legislature (2019)

  • Pío GARCÍA-ESCUDERO MÁRQUEZ (Madrid, 1952)
    Architect: President of the People’s Party of Madrid between 1993 and 2004. Deputy of the Assembly of Madrid for three legislatures between 1991 and 2003. Senator designated by the Autonomous Community of Madrid between 1995 and 2003. Senator elect for Madrid from 2004 to present day. In the Senate, he has worked as spokesman for the parliamentary group of the People’s Party for three legislatures, in a first stage between 1996 and 1999, and a second between 2004 and 2011.
    President of the Senate in the X, XI and XII Legislatures (2011-2015, 2016 and 2016-2019).

  • Francisco Javier ROJO GARCÍA (Pamplona, 1949).
    MA in Industrial Arts specialising in Graphic Arts. Member of the Spanish Socialist Workers' Party (PSOE) since 1976. Member of the Board of Directors for La Caja de Ahorros de Álava and twice elected a councillor for Vitoria City Council, provincial councillor for Alava, and deputy member of parliament in the General Assemblies between 1979 and 2004. Member of the Basque regional parliament in 2001-2002. Member of parliament representing Araba/Álava during the three legislatures spanning from 1982 to 1993 and Senator from then until 2011.
    Speaker of the Senate during the VIII and XI Legislatures (2004 - 2008 and 2008 - 2011)

  • Juan José LUCAS JIMÉNEZ (Burgo de Osma, Soria, 1944).
    Civil Servant. Councillor for Soria Town Council, head of the Provincial Council between 1985 and 1986. Member of the People's Party, he was the head of the regional government in Castilla y León between 1991 and 2001, a position from which he resigned in order to join the Ministry of the Presidency. Member of parliament during the III and IV Legislatures and appointed Senator representing the Self-Governing Community of Castilla y León from 2002 to the present day.
    Speaker of the Senate during the VII Legislature (2002 - 2004)
    38 Juan José Lucas Giménez

  • Esperanza AGUIRRE GIL DE BIEDMA (Madrid, 1952).
    BA Hons in Law and civil servant belonging to the State Information and Tourism Service. Originally a member of the Liberal Party, she joined the People's Party in 1986. Councillor and deputy mayor of the Madrid City Council. In 1996, she became the minister for Education and Science. Elected senator representing Madrid during the VI and VII Legislatures, and the head of Madrid's regional government from 2003 to 2012.
    Speaker of the Senate during the VI and VII Legislatures (1999 - 2000 and 2000 - 2002)
    37 Esperanza Aguirre Gil de Biedma

  • Juan Ignacio BARRERO VALVERDE (Mérida, Badajoz, 1943).
    BA Hons in Law. Lawyer. Professor of Constitutional Law at the UNED in Extremadura. Member of the People's Party (PP). Parliamentary member of the Assembly of Extremadura on three occasions. Senator representing Badajoz during the IV, V and VI Legislatures and member of parliament during the VII.
    Speaker of the Senate during the VI Legislature (1996 - 1999)
    36 Juan Ignacio Barrero Valverde

  • Juan José LABORDA MARTÍN (Bilbao, 1947).
    Journalist and professor of Modern and Contemporary history. In 1975 he joined the Spanish Socialist Workers' Party. Member of the General Council of Castilla y León. Member of the Assembly of the Council of Europe. Deputy member of parliament in the Regional Government of Castilla y León in 1987 and candidate for the leadership of said Government. Senator representing Burgos from the Constituent Legislature until 2008. Founder of the Castilla y León Regional Institute and member of the Society for Basque Studies.
    Speaker of the Senate during the IV and V legislatures (1989-1993 and 1993-1996)
    35 Juan José Laborda Martín

  • José Federico de CARVAJAL PÉREZ (Málaga, 1930).
    Lawyer. Member of the Spanish Socialist Workers' Party since 1956. He was elected Senator representing Ávila in the Constituent Legislature, during which he was third secretary and speaker of the Constitutional Committee. Member of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe. Member of parliament, 1989-1993.
    Speaker of the Senate during the II and III Legislatures (1982-1986 and 1986-1989)
    34 José Federico de Carvajal Pérez

  • Cecilio VALVERDE MAZUELAS (Córdoba, 1927 – Madrid, 2001).
    Lawyer. Law firm in Cordoba and later in Madrid with the then dean Antonio Pedrol Ríus. His political career was launched in 1976, when he took part in the founding of the Liberal Social Party of Andalusia, later integrated into the Democratic Centre Union. Secretary of the Cordoba Bar Association from 1962 to 1966 and member of the Board of Directors of La Caja Provincial de Ahorros de Córdoba. Senator for Cordoba in the Constituent and first Legislatures.
    Speaker of the Senate during the I Legislature (1977- 1979)
    33 Cecilio Valverde Mazuelas

  • Antonio FONTÁN PÉREZ (Sevilla, 1923 – Madrid, 2010).
    Professor of Language since 1949, journalist and writer. Director of the Madrid newspaper, among others, and vice president of the SER broadcasting network. Author of numerous scientific publications about linguistics, the history of humanism and Latin. Member of the Count of Barcelona’s Private Board and teacher to the then Prince Juan Carlos of Bourbon. He was involved in the founding of the Democratic Party, later integrated in the Democratic Centre Union. Minister of Regional Administration in 1977.
    Speaker of the Senate during the Constituent Legislature (1977- 1979)
    32 Antonio Fontán Pérez